Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Marker Program

Pioneering Legislators


City: Stamps

County: Lafayette

Location: Dr. Maya Angelou Memorial Park at Lake June

Sponsor: Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission, City of Stamps, Arkansas Historic Preservation Program

GEO Coordinates

UTM-X: 454149
UTM-Y: 3690310
UTM Zone: 15

Latitude: 33.350923
Longitude: -93.492700

Marker Text

Pioneering Legislators

Three African American men represented Lafayette County in the state legislature after the Civil War. Monroe Hawkins, born a slave in North Carolina around 1832, was a minister and laborer. He was a delegate in the 1868 Constitutional Convention and served in the Arkansas House in 1868-69, 1873 and 1874. Conway Barbour, born a slave in Virginia in 1818, was an insurance agent in 1870 and served in the House of Representatives in 1871. Marshall Murray, born in Alabama in 1856, was a professor who served in the House in the 1883 session.

No. 139

Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission

City of Stamps

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program


Back to List

Linking Policy