Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Marker Program

David Walker


City: Fayetteville

County: Washington

Location: Adjacent to Fayetteville Confederate Cemetery on Rock Street


GEO Coordinates

UTM-X: 396269
UTM-Y: 3991336
UTM Zone: 15

Latitude: 36.06107148
Longitude: -94.15179931

Marker Text

David Walker

David Walker was born Feb. 19, 1806, near Elkton, Ky. He moved to Arkansas in 1830, earning his law license and settling in Fayetteville. Walker was elected circuit prosecutor in 1832, then to the Arkansas territorial legislature in1835. He helped write the states first constitution the next year. From 1848 to 1855, Walker was associate justice on the Arkansas Supreme Court. A Whig politically, Walker became wealthy as he acquired land and slaves. He backed the Constitutional Union Partys John Bell for president in the 1860 election.
After Abraham Lincolns election in 1860, David Walker opposed calling a secession convention, but was elected delegate and then president of the group. On May 6, 1861, when they voted to leave the Union, Walker urged five opponents to change their votes to show a united front; four did so. He served as a Confederate military judge during the war. He received a pardon from Pres. Andrew Johnson and in 1866 was elected Chief Justice of the Arkansas Supreme Court. He remained active in Arkansas politics for the rest of his life and died Sept. 30, 1879.

No. 58

Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission
General Patrick R. Cleburne, Arkansas Society, Military Order of the Stars and Bars
Captain James Tyrie Wright Chapter No. 6, Military Order of the Stars and Bars
United Sons of Confederate Soldiers Association
Order of the Southern Cross
Southern Memorial Association of Washington County
Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council


Back to List

Linking Policy