Three New Arkansas Civil War 150 Markers! ACWSC E-Newsletter

Monday, April 13, 2015

Welcome to the e-newsletter of the Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission. Newsletters will be sent out periodically to keep readers up to date on recent activities of the Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission, which is housed in the Historic Preservation Program, an agency of the Department of Arkansas Heritage. Please feel free to forward this newsletter to a friend.

For more information on the commission’s activities, or to subscribe to the e-newsletter, visit the ACWSC web site at www.arkansascivilwar150.com. To become a fan of the ACWSC on Facebook, go to http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#!/pages/Arkansas-Civil-War-Sesquicentennial-Commission/279474924191?ref=ts.



LITTLE ROCK—The Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission has approved applications for Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Historical Markers in Crawford, Dallas and Saline counties, ACWSC Chairman Tom Dupree announced today.

The approved markers are:

* Van Buren Raid, commemorating the December 1862 attack on Van Buren that culminated the Prairie Grove Campaign. Sponsored by the Drennen-Scott Historic Site of the University of Arkansas at Fort Smith, the marker will be placed at the Drennen-Scott House in Van Buren

* Dallas County in the Civil War, commemorating military activities along the Warren/Princeton Road. Sponsored by the Dallas County Museum, the marker will be placed in a park on West Third Street in Fordyce.

* Col. William Crawford and Gen. George Holt, commemorating a pair of prominent Confederate officers from Saline County. Sponsored by David O. Dodd Camp 619, Sons of Confederate Veterans, the marker will be placed at Lee Cemetery in Benton.

Through the Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Historical Marker Program, the ACWSC works with local partners to help tell the stories of how the Civil War affected communities around the state. The Commission hopes that there will be at least one marker in each of the state’s 75 counties by the end of the commemoration in 2015. Counties that currently do not have Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Historical Markers are Bradley, Calhoun, Franklin, Hot Spring, Howard, Lafayette, Lawrence, Montgomery, Newton, Polk and Sharp.

To date, 120 markers in 64 counties have been approved. Marker applications are available at http://www.arkansascivilwar150.com/historical-markers/markers.aspx.

For more information on sesquicentennial plans, visit www.arkansascivilwar150.com or e-mail acwsc@arkansasheritage.org.

The Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission is housed within the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program. The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum. 

Linking Policy